

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 21, 2011

Bill Rice named new Chair of the Canadian Securities Administrators

Calgary – The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) have appointed William S. Rice, Q.C., Chair and Chief Executive Officer of the Alberta Securities Commission, as the new Chair of the CSA for a two-year term, ending March 31, 2013.

"I am honoured to be chosen by my colleagues to lead the CSA and build on our work to coordinate and harmonize securities regulation for market participants across Canada," said Rice. "In these challenging times, the CSA is an organization critical to ensuring confidence in Canada's capital markets. We will continue to do what we've been doing all along -- focus on and respond to market conditions and public concerns regarding securities regulation and effectively enforce securities laws in Canada."

Rice succeeds Jean St-Gelais, who has stepped down as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Autorité des marchés financiers. St-Gelais has served as head of the CSA since April 2005. "The CSA would like to thank Jean St-Gelais for his support, commitment and leadership over the past six years," said Rice.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

-30-

For more information:

Mark Dickey Alberta Securities Commission 403-297-4481

Theresa Ebden **Ontario Securities Commission** 416-593-8307

Sylvain Théberge Autorité des marchés financiers 514-940-2176

Ken Gracey British Columbia Securities Commission 604-899-6577

Ainsley Cunningham Manitoba Securities Commission 204-945-4733

Natalie MacLellan Nova Scotia Securities Commission 902-424-8586

Janice Callbeck PEI Securities Office Office of the Attorney General 902-368-6288

Graham Lang Yukon Securities Registry 867-667-5466

Donn MacDougall Northwest Territories Securities Office 867-920-8984 Wendy Connors-Beckett New Brunswick Securities Commission 506-643-7745

Barbara Shourounis Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission 306-787-5842

Doug Connolly Financial Services Regulation Div. Newfoundland and Labrador 709-729-2594

Louis Arki Nunavut Securities Office 867-975-6587

